ALCTS webinar: Accidents Happen: Protecting & Saving Family Treasures

Location: , Online Only

ALCTS webinar: Accidents Happen: Protecting & Saving Family Treasures

Date: April 26, 2011 All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, noon Mountain, and 11am Pacific Time.

Description: Accidents and disasters happen. When it does are you prepared? Are your family treasures stored safely in your home or elsewhere? How do you save your photos when they've been submerged in flood water? What do you do if your books smell mildewy? What if your basement floods or worse? Attend this session to learn answers to these questions and more.

Kraft will provide tips and tools for checking out possible hazards around the house, dealing with mold and salvaging keepsakes, documenting damage for insurance purposes, and keeping your family safe.

Learning Outcomes:
- Steps to take in preparing for and responding to a disaster
- Basic understanding of dealing with mold
- Simple techniques for salvaging keepsakes
- Awareness of available disaster assistance

Audience: Anyone interested in learning about disaster preparation and response. Strategies discussed during the presentation can be applied to home, library, or business.

Presenter: Nancy E Kraft, Head of Preservation at the University of Iowa Libraries, is responsible for directing the preservation and conservation of the library collections at the University of Iowa. In 2009 she received the Midwest Archives Conference Presidents' Award for her extraordinary work following the historic levels of flooding that struck Iowa in the summer of 2008. Kraft has assisted in many disaster recoveries, large and small, including the Iowa Floods of 1993 and 2008, the University of Iowa Old Capitol fire, the water soaked State Historical Society of Iowa building, and a mold outbreak in the Law Library's rare book room. Her passion is assisting the individual to preserve his/her keepsakes.

*****************
Free. This is a complimentary webinar presented as part of the Preservation Week events. Watch for further announcements on additional complimentary webinars during Preservation Week.

To register, visit the GoToWebinar site: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/168682080

For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org.

Posted on behalf of the ALCTS Continuing Education Committee.